Who are the leaders of Israel?

Who are the leaders of Israel?

Israel is a democratic state with free elections and open dissent. The diversity of political opinion in Israel is sometimes a hinderance to the government and has even interferred with the defense of the country. Under the Israeli system, a parliment of ministers is elected (the Knesset) and a Prime Minister is chosen as the principal political leader, usually in a coalition government. Since the founding of Israel in 1948 there have been these Prime Ministers:

  • David Ben-Gurion (1948-54, 55-63)
  • Moshe Sharett (1954-55)
  • Levi Eshkol (1963-74)
  • Golda Meir (1969-74)
  • Yitzhak Rabin (1974-77, 92-95)
  • Menachem Begin (1977-83)
  • Yitzhak Shamir (1983-84, 86-92)
  • Shimon Peres (1984-86, 95-96)
  • Benjamin Netanyahu (1996-99)
  • Ehud Barak (1999-2001)
  • Ariel Sharon (2001- 2006)
  • Ehud Olmert (2006-2009)
  • Benjamin Netanyahu (2009-date)

Texas Rangers Tickets  War Horse Tickets

Note: This is a moderated site. Only comments that add value to the discussion will be published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>